如何分析COM端口活动

什么是COM端口,为什么监视它?

串口是串口通讯的接口,每次只传送1位数据。 串行端口通常被标识为COM(通信)端口。 随着USB和其他更快速的解决方案的推出,串行端口与过去的使用频率相比使用较少。 然而,在工业自动化系统,科学仪器,网络使能和实验室设备,作为诊断控制台等使用,他们在这里留下来。

使用串行设备需要定期监视和分析串行端口活动。 您可能需要查看通过RS232 / 422/485端口发送和接收的数据(来自应用程序的事件及其状态等)。 这可以让你追查一个问题,如果有的话; 安装设备时也非常方便。

不幸的是分析COM端口Windows操作系统不提供任何特殊的工具。 不过不用担心,有专门的软件可以监视,查看和分析COM端口的活动。

串行端口分析器可以监控,显示,保存日志和研究RS232 / 422/485 COM端口活动。
Serial Port Monitor logo

Serial Port Monitor

记录和分析串行端口活动
4.8 等级 基于 41+ 用户, 评论(75)
下载 14天全功能试用
Serial Port Monitor

Serial Port Monitor – 软件分析串行端口活动

Serial Port Monitor 是由Eltima Software开发的串口分析仪。 它可以监视,显示,保存日志和学习RS232 / 422/485 COM端口活动。 有一个方便的方法来跟踪开发应用程序或驱动程序,测试和优化串行设备等时可能出现的问题。

Serial Port Monitor

这个分析串行端口活动的便捷工具使您可以:

  1. 连接到已被其他应用程序打开的COM端口,并立即开始监视。 我们的COM端口分析器将实时显示COM端口接收的所有数据,因此可以立即追踪任何可能的问题。
  2. 同时监视多个COM端口。 在一个会话中,您可以同时分析远程COM端口活动 - 两个,三个或其中几个。 收到和发送的数据按照先进先出的原则记录在单个日志中; 这使分析更方便。
  3. 同时在表格,行,转储和终端视图模式下查看数据。 四个监视视图中的每一个都提供了表示记录数据的不同方式。 你可以选择过滤器进行监控,所以你只能看到你感兴趣的事件的数据。
  4. 仿真将数据发送到串行设备。 要做到这一点,使用串行端口的终端模式功能 - 它将使您能够代表受监视的应用程序发送数据,支持各种格式(字符串,二进制,八进制,十进制,十六进制,混合)。 因此,您可以检查受监控的串行设备如何对特定命令和数据作出反应。
  5. 完全支持Modbus RTU和Modbus ASCII协议。串行端口分析仪配备了新的高效过滤器,有助于读取和分析Modbus数据。 我们的串口分析软件开启了与RS485 / RS422 / RS232设备轻松建立连接的可能性,并且可以分析数据。
  6. 播放和会话比较。 随着COM端口分析仪来一个独特的会议回放的可能性 - 从应用程序接收到的数据可以被发回到串行端口。 通过这种方式,您可以更轻松地查看端口的行为,因为它会接收相同的数据以获得更密切的监视结果。 此外,会话可以与它们之间存在的自动显示差异进行比较。
  7. RS232活动日志

如何使用串行端口监视器分析COM端口活动?

首先, 下载串行端口监视器, 安装并启动它。 那么你需要开始一个监测会议,这是你如何做到的:

  1. 在显示的Serial Port Monitor窗口中,进入主菜单,选择Session - > New session。 否则,您可以点击主工具栏上的“新建”图标或按“Ctrl + N”。 这将调用“新的监控会话”屏幕。
  2. 选择您希望在监控会话期间显示的视图模式:
    • ★ 表视图 - 记录的IRP以表格形式显示
    • ★ 线视图 - 通过特定的串行线传递的请求将与细节一起显示
    • ★ 转储视图 - 显示通过串行线路传输的数据
    • ★ 终端视图 - 所有接收到的数据都以ASCII字符显示在文本控制台上。
    Serial Port Monitor

    您可以使用“全选”和“不选”按钮来简化操作。

  3. 选择是否要“立即开始监控”或“在新窗口中开始”以查看新会话的即时行为。
  4. 在“捕捉选项”中,指定要捕捉的事件 - 创建/关闭,读取/写入,设备控制。
  5. Serial Port Monitor
  6. 点击“开始监控”激活会话。 这将显示一个新的监视窗口。
  7. 要保存会话,请在主菜单中选择“会话 - >保存会话/保存会话为”。 或者,您可以点击主工具栏上的“保存”图标或按“Ctrl + S”。

为您的会话命名,以便在返回分析数据时识别它。

Serial Port Monitor

要求:Windows XP / 2003/2008 / Vista / 7/8/10 / Server 2012 , 9.16MB 大小
版本 7.0.342 (13.01.2018) 行说明
類別: Communication Application

How to analyze COM port activity

Olga Weis

What is COM port and why monitor it?

Serial port is an interface for serial communication, in which only 1 bit is transmitted at a time. Serial ports are typically identified as COM (communications) ports. With the introduction of USB and other faster solutions serial ports are used less when compared to how often they were used in the past. However being used in industrial automation systems, scientific instruments, network-enabling and lab equipment, as control consoles for diagnostics, etc. they are here to stay.

Working with serial devices requires to regular monitor and analyze serial port activity. You might need to see data sent and received by RS232/422/485 ports (events from the apps, their status, etc.). This allows you to track down a problem if there is any; it is also extremely handy when you are setting up equipment.

Unfortunately to analyze COM port Windows OS does not offer any special tools. However no need to worry, there is special software that can monitor, check and analyze COM port activity.

Serial Port Monitor – Software to Analyze Serial Port Activity

Serial Port Monitor is a serial port analyzer developed by Eltima Software. It enables monitoring, displaying, keeping logs and studying RS232/422/485 COM ports activity. There is a convenient way to track down problems that may arise when developing an application or a driver, testing and optimizing serial devices, etc.

Serial Port Monitor

This convenient tool to analyze serial port activity allows you to:

  1. Connect to a COM port already opened by another application and start monitoring it right away. Our COM port analyzer will display in real-time all data received by the COM port, so any possible problem can be tracked down immediately.
  2. Monitor several COM ports simultaneously. Within one session you can analyze remote COM port activity – two, three or several of them – concurrently. Data received and sent is recorded in a single log on a first-in first-out basis; this makes it more convenient for analysis.
  3. View data in a table, line, dump and terminal view mode at the same time. Each of the four monitoring views provide a different way to represent recorded data. You can choose filters for monitoring, so you only see the data for the events you are interested in.
  4. Emulate sending data to a serial device. To do that, use Terminal mode feature of Serial Port – it will enable you sending data on behalf of monitored application, various formats (string, binary, octal, decimal, hexadecimal, mixed) are supported. You can thus check how the monitored serial device reacts to specific commands and data.
  5. Fully supports Modbus RTU and Modbus ASCII protocols.Serial Port Analyzer is equipped with new and efficient filters that will help in the reading and analysis of Modbus data. Our software to analyze serial ports opens up the possibility of easily establishing connection with RS485/RS422/RS232 devices, as well as makes it possible to analyze their data.
  6. Playback and session comparison. With COM Port Analyzer comes a unique session playback possibility – the data received from the app can be sent back again to the serial port. This way it becomes easier for you to review the behavior of the port as it receives the same data for more close monitoring results. Also, sessions can be compared with automatic display differences that exist between them.
  7. RS232 activity log

How to analyze COM port activity using Serial Port Monitor?

First of all, download Serial Port Monitor, install and launch it. Then you need to start a monitoring session, this is how you do it:

  1. In Serial Port Monitor window displayed go to the Main menu, choose Session -> New session. Else, you can click ‘New’ icon on the main toolbar or press ‘Ctrl + N’. This will invoke ‘New monitoring session’ screen.
  2. Select view modes you would like to be displayed during your monitoring session:
    • ★ Table view – recorded IRPs are displayed in the form of table
    • ★ Line view – requests passed through a particular serial line are displayed along with details
    • ★ Dump view – shows data passed through the serial line
    • ★ Terminal view – all received data is displayed in ASCII characters on a text console.
    Serial Port Monitor

    You can utilize ‘Select all’ and ‘Select none’ buttons to simplify things.

  3. Choose, whether you would like to ‘Start monitoring now’ or ‘Start in new window’ for the immediate behavior of a new session.
  4. In ‘Capture options’ specify what events you’d like to capture – Create/Close, Read/Write, Device Control.
  5. Serial Port Monitor
  6. Click ‘Start monitoring’ to activate the session. This will display a new monitoring window.
  7. To save the session, in the main menu select ‘Session -> Save session/ Save session As’. Alternatively you can click ‘Save’ icon on the main toolbar or press ‘Ctrl + S’.

Name your session to identify it when you go back to it for analysis data.

Serial Port Monitor

Requirements: Windows XP/2003/2008/Vista/7/8/10/Server 2012 , 9.16MB size
Version 7.0.312 () Release notes