To delete a file, follow these steps:
1. Select the file you want to delete.
2. Choose the “Delete selected file(s)” option from the right-click menu or click F8. Alternatively, you can use the “Delete” menu option.
If the “Move to trash” option is enabled in Preferences, files are moved to the Trash folder of your Mac, instead of deleting them forever. The “Move to trash” option is enabled by default.
If the “Move to trash” option is disabled, files are deleted forever (permanently).
If you click shift+Del, files will be deleted permanently (not in Trash).