如何通过以太网访问远程串行端口

Olga Weis

如何通过网络访问COM设备?网络串口技术


越来越多的现代计算设备现在配备了USB端口。 但USB标准虽然很快,但仍然有一定的缺点; 这就是为什么许多技术使用串口。 COM端口设备可以远程使用,即使它们不在物理上接近,也可以与这些设备一起工作。 或者让我们来看一个需要从远程计算机上的串行端口接收数据的应用程序的用例。 在这种情况下,你需要 Serial to Ethernet Connector, 一种简单而高效的软件解决方案,可实现串口远程访问。

如何访问串行网络?


让我们考虑一些最常见的用例,当您需要通过LAN或任何其他网络进行远程串行访问 时:

  1. 说,你有一个串行设备连接到本地计算机,你需要从网络中的另一台计算机处理它。 如何同时从多台机器访问串行端口?下载并在每个计算机上安装串行以太网连接器,这将使您的串行设备可供其他人使用,他们可以访问以太网,Internet等串行设备。通过网络使用远程串行设备与使用同一台设备时不同 插入本地机器。 Serial to Ethernet Connector
  2. 它不仅关于共享本地机器的串行端口。 如果您需要从远程机器通过网络访问COM,Serial to Ethernet Connector帮助您解决这个问题。 您需要在本地计算机(服务器)和具有需要与串行端口通信的应用程序的PC上安装该软件。 远程计算机将显示虚拟串行连接,使应用程序能够与端口通信。
  3. 如果您的网络中的多台计算机上安装的客户端应用程序需要一个空调制解调器(串行)连接才能正常工作,则需要设置一个 Serial to Ethernet Connector在两台机器上创建虚拟COM端口,即使没有真正的硬件串行设备/端口,也可以通过LAN /以太网连接它们。 您的应用程序将识别真正的零调制解调器连接,并根据算法集使用它。

该应用程序适用于Windows和Linux,由您决定将哪个操作系统设置为客户端或服务器。 通过UDP进行广播也是可能的。 请注意,当前的Linux版本是一个命令行产品。

通过网络访问远程COM设备的硬件解决方案


专门的硬件,串口到以太网转换器,对于那些想远程访问以太网串行的用户将是有用 的。

在转换器的帮助下,计算机可以一次通过网络与多个远程串行设备交换数据。硬件使得可以连接到嵌入在诸如路由器,交换机,服务器等的网络设备中的串行端口,从而提供串行端口远程访问。

NetBurner硬件serial to Ethernet Connector

串行到以太网转换器作为电缆的替代品,能够通过以太网将标牌设备连接到串行到以太网适配器。 此外,它可以成为现有串行拨号调制解调器连接的良好替代方案。

所有您需要做的是将硬件连接到串行端口设备和以太网。 现在,该设备可用于从任何网络计算机进行远程访问。 串行以太网转换器将是一个很好的解决方案,用于在位于同一房间或建筑物的客户端计算机之间共享COM端口设备。 然而,硬件不允许访问位于另一个国家或世界另一边的串行设备,而Eltima的软件解决方案提供了这样的机 会。

Eltima Software /Eltima产品 / Serial to Ethernet Connector / 如何通过以太网访问远程串行端口

Serial to Ethernet Connector

Windows(32位和64位)的要求:XP / 2003/2008 / Vista / 7/8/10,Windows Server 2012
Linux的要求:Kubuntu 9.10“Karmic考拉”,openSUSE 11.2,7.63MB可用空间,4.66MB大小 , 4.66MB 大小
版本 7.1.876 () 发行说明

How to access remote Serial port over Ethernet

Olga Weis

How to access remote COM device over network
Network serial port technology

More and more modern computing devices are now equipped with USB ports. But USB standards, although fast, still have certain disadvantages; that is why many technologies make use of serial ports. COM port devices can be used remotely, i.e. one can work with these devices even if they are not in physical proximity. Or let us take a use-case of an app that needs to receive data from a serial port on a remote computer. In such situations you need Serial to Ethernet Connector, a simple yet efficient software solution that enables serial port remote access.

How to access serial over network?

Let us consider a few most common use cases when you need remote serial access over LAN or any other network:

  1. Say, you have a serial device connected to a local computer and you need to work with it from another computer in the network. How do you access serial port from several machines simultaneously? Download and install Serial Ethernet Connector on each of computers, this will make your serial device available to others, they can access serial over Ethernet, the Internet, etc. Using a remote serial device over network is no different from using the same device when it is inserted in your local machine. Serial to Ethernet Connector
  2. It is not only about sharing your local machine’s serial port. In case you need to access COM over network from a remote machine, Serial to Ethernet Connector helps you solve this problem too. You need to install the software on the local computer (server) and on a PC that has an application that needs to communicate to the serial port. The remote computer will display a virtual serial connection that enables the app to talk to the port.
  3. If client apps installed on several computers in your network require a null modem (serial) connection to work, you need to setup one. Serial to Ethernet Connector creates virtual COM ports on both machines and connects them via LAN/Ethernet even if there is no real hardware serial device/ port. Your apps will recognize a real null-modem connection and make use of it according to the algorithm set.

The app is available for Windows and Linux, and it is up to you to decide which OS is to be set as a client or server. Broadcasting over UDP is possible too. Note that current Linux version is a command-line product.

Hardware solution to access remote COM device over the network

A specialized hardware, serial-to-ethernet converter, will be of use to those who want to remotely access serial over Ethernet.

With the help of the converter, computers can exchange data with multiple remote serial devices over the network at a time. The hardware makes it possible to connect to serial ports embedded in networking equipment such as routers, switches, servers, etc., providing serial port remote access.

NetBurner hardware serial to Ethernet Connector

Serial-to-ethernet converter, serving as a replacement for cables, is capable of connecting signage equipment to serial-to-ethernet adapters over Ethernet. In addition, it can be a good alternative to existing serial dial-up modem connections.

All you need to do is connect the hardware to both a serial port device and Ethernet. Now, the device is available for remote access from any network computer. Serial-Ethernet converter will be a good solution for sharing COM port equipment among client computers located in the same room or building. The hardware, however, does not allow accessing serial devices located in another country or on the other side of the world, while the software solution by Eltima provides such opportunity.

Serial to Ethernet Connector

Requirements for Windows (32-bit and 64-bit): XP/2003/2008/ Vista/7/8/10, Windows Server 2012
Requirements for Linux: Kubuntu 9.10 “Karmic Koala”, openSUSE 11.2, 7.63MB free space , 4.66MB size , 4.66MB size
Version 7.1.876 () Release notes