在Citrix XenDesktop和VDI-in-a-box中訪問USB設備

Olga Weis

像Citrix,VMWare這樣的虛擬化軟件解決方案可以將公司的數據中心中的桌面集中到一起,並按需將它們交付給用戶。 這項技術提供了許多優點 - 安全的遠程訪問,使用任何可用的設備的可能性,成本最小化等等。然而它也有一些缺點,其中之一是無法訪問主機上的USB端口。 因此,在虛擬桌面基礎架構(VDI)中,您可能無法讀取USB加密狗的內容,或者將打印輸出的文檔發送到多功能設備(即使它們連接到您的機器上)。或者正如虛擬化軟件開發人員所說的那樣,有些設備不適合在虛擬環境中工作。這些可能是網絡攝像頭和安全USB設備。 也有設備的驅動程序包含內部超時。 但是別擔心 - 有一種方法可以去實現,或者實際上有幾種方法:

在Citrix虛擬環境中使用USB設備的特殊工具

直到最近Citrix沒有適當的機制來使用USB設備,虛擬化軟件通常不允許您使用該功能或訪問連接到主機的設備的內容。 只有最新版本的XenDesktop允許您這樣做,但是對於以前版本的用戶來說,訪問USB端口仍然是個問題。 有沒有必要擔心,有專門的軟件,可以幫助您解決問題。通過以太網的USB 連接器允許您連接到使用它們的USB端口和設備與計算機進行通信。

USB Network Gate

這裡是你如何使用它:

  1. 下載 USB Network Gate 連接USB設備的計算機,例如服務器。 將其安裝在主機操作系統上,插入設備並共享。
  2. 在虛擬機上安裝USB Network Gate。
  3. 搜索設備並連接到它。 它將顯示在虛擬機上,就像直接插入你的機器一樣。

而已! 您可以訪問連接到主機或服務器的任何USB設備的功能和內容。 USB Network Gate還支持通過ICA協議在VDI-in-a-box中使用USB設備。 您的虛擬環境將顯示USB設備,就好像它插入虛擬機一樣。 請注意,儘管一般情況下,USB重定向工作,但性能因設備而異,可能比平時慢。

XenDesktop中的USB設備重定向

在遠程會話中,我們經常需要訪問連接到主機的USB設備。 思傑不支持連接到USB 3.0端口的設備的通用重定向。 而是建立虛擬通道,優化設備的性能,並使其在會話中可用,例如用於查看相機上的文件的CDM虛擬通道或向耳機提供音頻。 XenDesktop允許在遠程會話中通過ICA協議進行USB重定向,您也可以使用它在VIAB環境中訪問USB設備,即可以將USB設備通過ICA從客戶機重定向到XenDesktop或VDI-in-a-box虛擬桌面。

獨立計算架構(ICA)協議上的USB重定向工作在較低的水平。 只有虛擬桌面需要驅動程序與設備兼容,而不是客戶機。

要開始使用重定向功能,您需要啟用該功能並配置重定向規則。 當您嘗試將設備重定向到虛擬桌面時,桌面將開始在每個USB策略規則中搜索匹配項。 有一種方法可以去做:

  1. 在XenDesktop服務器上啟動Desktop Studio,選擇開始>所有程序> Citrix> Desktop Studio。
  2. 找到並展開“HDX政策”選項。
  3. 選擇用戶。
  4. 選擇編輯>設置。
  5. 在“策略”控制台中找到“USB設備”,您可能需要向下滾動。 在“客戶端USB設備重定向”上單擊“添加”,選擇“允許”,然後單擊“確定”。
USB Network Gate

用於虛擬環境的硬件USB設備服務器

除了軟件解決方案之外,還有一些硬件允許您在Citrix虛擬環境中訪問USB設備。 這些USB設備服務器可以連接到任何USB設備,並允許您將設備放置在任何便於您使用的位置,而不會造成電纜混亂,沒有距離限制。 所有這些服務器都配備了允許用戶訪問網絡中的USB設備的功能。

這裡我們將列出幾個這樣的服務器:

  • DS-510:入門級用戶的設備服務器。 不需要特殊的驅動程序或應用程序來使用設備。 由於性能優化,千兆連接可實現高性能數據吞吐量。
  • USB Network Gate
  • SX-DS-4000U2:高端USB設備服務器。 USB虛擬鏈接技術可以共享任何類型的USB設備並高速傳輸數據。
  • USB Network Gate
  • SX-DS-3000WN(代替C-6700WG):適用於802.11n無線或千兆以太網。
  • USB Network Gate
/ / / Citrix XenDesktop和VDI-in-a-box中訪問USB設備

USB Network Gate

Windows 需求: XP/2003/2008/Vista/7/8/10, Server 2012 , 5.62MB 大小
版本 8.0.1859 () 发行说明

Access USB devices in Citrix XenDesktop and VDI-in-a-box

Olga Weis

Virtualization software solutions such as Citrix, VMWare centralizes desktops in your company’s datacenter and delivers them to users on demand. This technology offers a lot of advantages - secure remote access, possibility to use any device available to a user, cost minimization, etc. However it has certain drawbacks too, one of them is having no access to USB ports on the host computer. Thus in virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) you might not be able to read the contents of a USB dongle or send a document for a printout to a multi functional device even though they are connected to your machine. Or as the virtualization software developers say, some devices are not designed to work in virtual environments. These could be web-cams and security USB devices. There are also devices whose drivers contain internal timeouts. But do not worry – there is a way to go about it, or in fact several ways:

Special tool to work with USB devices in Citrix Virtual Environments

Till recently Citrix had no proper mechanism to work with USB devices, the virtualization software usually does not allow you to use the functionality or access the contents of the devices connected to the host machine. Only the latest versions of XenDesktop allow you to do it, however for the owners of the previous versions accessing USB ports is still a problem. There is no need to worry though, there is special software that helps you solve the problem. USB over Ethernet Connector allows you to get through to the USB ports and devices that use them for communicating with the computer.

USB Network Gate

Here is how you use it:

  1. Download USB Network Gate on a machine to which you will connect a USB device, a server, for example. Install it on the host OS, plug in the device and share it.
  2. Install USB Network Gate on the virtual machine.
  3. Search for the device and connect to it. It will be displayed on your virtual machine as if you plugged it directly in your machine.

That’s it! The functionality and contents of any USB device connected to the host machine or a server is accessible to you. USB Network gate also enables working with a USB device in VDI-in-a-box over ICA protocol. Your virtual environment will display a USB device as if it were plugged into the virtual machine. Please note that although in general, USB redirection works but the performance vary depending on devices, it might be slower than usual.

USB device redirection in XenDesktop

In a remote session we often need to access USB devices connected to the host machine. Citrix does not support generic redirection of devices connected to USB 3.0 ports. Instead it builds virtual channels that optimize the devices’ performance and make them available in the session such as CDM virtual channel used to view files on a camera or to provide audio to a headset. XenDesktop allows USB redirection over ICA protocol in remote sessions and you can use it to access USB devices in VIAB environment too, i.e. you can redirect a USB device over ICA from a client machine to XenDesktop or VDI-in-a-box virtual desktop.

USB redirection over Independent Computing Architecture (ICA) protocol works at a low level. Only the virtual desktop needs to have a driver compatible to the device, not the client machine.

To start using the redirection functionality you need to enable the feature and configure redirection rules. When you try to redirect a device to Virtual Desktop, the desktop start searching for a match in each of the USB policy rules. There is a way to go about it:

  1. On XenDesktop server launch Desktop Studio, choose Start > All Programs > Citrix > Desktop Studio.
  2. Locate and expand ‘HDX Policy’ option
  3. Select users
  4. Choose Edit > Settings
  5. In ‘Policy’ console find ‘USB devices’, you might have to scroll down. On ‘Client USB device redirection’ click ‘Add’, choose ‘Allowed’ and click ‘OK’.
USB Network Gate

Hardware USB device server for Virtual Environment

Apart from software solutions, there is hardware that allows you to access USB devices in Citrix virtual environment. These are USB device servers that can connect to any USB device and allow you to place the device wherever it is convenient for you in the network – no cable clutter, no distance restriction. All these servers are equipped with the functionality that allows users to access USB devices in the network.

Here we will list a few of such servers:

  • DS-510: a device server for entry-level users. No special drivers or applications are required to use the equipment. Thanks to optimized performance and Gigabit connection allows for high performance data throughput.
  • USB Network Gate
  • SX-DS-4000U2: high-end USB device server. USB virtual link technology enables sharing any kind of USB device and transmitting data at a high speed.
  • USB Network Gate
  • SX-DS-3000WN (replaces C-6700WG): works over 802.11n wireless or Gigabit Ethernet.
  • USB Network Gate

USB Network Gate

Requirements for Windows: XP/2003/2008/Vista/7/8/10, Server 2012
Also available on macOS, Linux OS and Android , 5.62MB size
Version 8.0.1859 () Release notes