虚拟机中的COM端口(Hyper-V,VMware,VirtualBox)

串口到虚拟机直通的常见问题:


虚拟环境提供许多好处,包括服务器整合,提高利用率和故障后更快的恢复时间。物理机可以托管多个虚拟机,并且所有虚拟机都可以共享外围设备,资源和串行端口连接。将串行转发到VMware,Hyper-V或任何其他环境可以提高串行端口硬件的使用效率。

通常情况下,在虚拟环境中我们无法使用串行端口,因为虚拟化软件工具通常不支持其吞吐量。那么,如果我们需要虚拟机中的串行设备访问 - 调制解调器,扫描仪或打印机,我们该怎么办?调试应用程序时也需要串行端口。

如果您或您正在使用的虚拟机上的任何应用程序必须能够访问主机操作系统上的串行端口,请尝试以下解决方案之一。

内容

  • 模拟串口
  • Hyper-V COM端口直通
  • VirtualBox COM端口访问
  • VMware中的COM端口
  • 使用串口到以太网连接器模拟虚拟机中的串行端口

    串行到以太网连接器是连接运行Linux或Windows的虚拟机中连接COM端口的最简单方法之一。借助软件工具,您将有机会访问VMware,Hyper-V,Citrix或任何其他虚拟环境中的COM。

    该软件将创建一个客户端连接,从而通过TCP / IP协议启动从串行端口(本地或实际)到远程服务器的数据重定向。远程端不需要安装串行到以太网连接器。您只需要指定远程服务器的IP地址或网络名称以及要连接的TCP端口。客户端连接意味着从远程端发送的数据将由本地串行端口接收,并将进一步处理。

    要开始使用COM端口,下载并安装应用程序,它将显示可供您使用的设备列表,找到您需要的设备并连接到该设备。串行到以太网连接器可以访问Hyper-V,VMWare,Citrix XenDesktop和其他虚拟化软件中的串行端口。
    Sec logo

    Serial to Ethernet Connector

    透过网络访问远程串口
    4.9 等级 基于 52+ 用户, 评论(86)
    下载 14天全功能试用
    Serial to Ethernet Connector

    访问Hyper-V中的串行端口

    Hyper-V Manager从不显示COM,因此您甚至不知道是否拥有它们。为了能够使用虚拟机中的COM端口,一旦建立Hyper-V连接,您需要按照以下步骤操作:

    1. 在应用程序的左下角,单击“显示选项”按钮。
    2. 转到“本地资源”标签
    3. 在“本地设备和资源”框旁边,点击“更多...”
    4. 单击“端口”复选框
    5. 在“常规”选项卡中登录虚拟机。
    您应该在虚拟环境中看到主机的资源。完成这些设置后,您将可以访问虚拟机中的COM端口。
    Hyper-V串口

    使用VirtualBox中的串行端口

    要访问Virtual Box中的串行端口,您需要在来宾虚拟机上执行一些操作。在主机操作系统上没有任何操作。只需几个简单的步骤即可实现VirtualBox串口直通:

    VirtualBox COM端口

    以下是您在虚拟环境中需要做的事情 - 配置串口设置:

    1. 单击“串行端口”复选框,然后输入端口/文件路径。
    2. 使用标记的“创建管道”复选框启动计算机,如果未选中“创建管道”,将显示错误消息。
    3. VirtualBox串口
    3.现在你可以开始你的第二台机器了。
    如果您在完成所有操作后仔细按照说明操作 - 您将可以轻松访问VirtualBox中串行端口设备的所有必需功能。您将在虚拟机的控制面板中看到该设备。

    VMware串口访问

    如果您习惯VMware环境,则可能会遇到上述问题。如果您已经知道如何访问VMware中的COM端口,则可能仍会出现此问题。例如,当您需要在VMware Workstation中转发四个以上的COM时。要在VMware中使用串行端口,您需要执行以下操作:

    1. 在虚拟机中转到“设置”
    2. 在“硬件”标签中点击“添加”
    3. 按照向导并选择一个串行端口
    4. 指定串行端口发送输出所需的位置 - 如果是命名管道,请确保对其进行配置。
    5. “启动时连接”允许您在启动虚拟机后连接到端口
    6. 单击“完成”将远程串行端口添加到虚拟机。


    如果您的目的是在没有限制的情况下连接VMware中的串行端口,则串行到以太网连接器将是您正在寻找的解决方案。您只需要在主机和虚拟机上安装该软件,例如上面提到的.

    在本指南中,我们为您提供了有关如何访问虚拟机中COM端口的分步说明。通过这些设置,您将获得直接插入客户机中访问串行端口所需的所有功能。您也可以使用软件解决方案与虚拟创建的端口进行通信,而无需任何其他设置。串行到以太网连接器允许您访问上述任何虚拟机中的COM端口。即使没有其他设置和步骤,您也可以轻松访问VMware,VirtualBox,CitriX或Hyper-V中的COM端口。该软件允许在具有串行端口设备的虚拟环境中工作,并获得其所有好处。因此,选择最简单的解决方案,它将帮助您从COM端口功能中获得所需的一切。

    最近跟帖
    Darun Smith 9月28日11:08
    Olga Weis 9月27日18:03

COM Port in Virtual Machine (Hyper-V, VMware, VirtualBox)

avatar logo 7 Feb at 12:49

Common problem with serial port to virtual machine passthrough:


The virtual environment offers many benefits including server consolidation, increased utilization and faster recovery times after failure. A physical machine can host multiple virtual machines, and all of them may share peripherals, resources, and serial port connections. Forwarding serial to VMware, Hyper-V or any other environments makes the serial port hardware usage more efficient.

It often happens that in the virtual environment we cannot work with serial ports, as virtualization software tools usually do not support their throughput. So what do we do if we need a serial device access in virtual machine – a modem, a scanner or a printer? Serial ports are also required when you debug applications.

If you or any applications on the virtual machine you are working on have to have access to a serial port on host OS, try one of the following solutions.

Contents

  • Emulate Serial Port
  • Hyper-V COM port passthrough
  • VirtualBox COM port access
  • COM port in VMware
  • Emulate Serial Port in Virtual Machine with Serial to Ethernet Connector

    Serial to Ethernet Connector is one of the easiest ways to connect COM port in virtual machine that runs Linux or Windows. With the help of the software tool you will have an opportunity to get access to COM in VMware, Hyper-V, Citrix, or any other virtual environment.

    The software will create a client connection thus initiating data redirection from a serial port – local or real – to a remote server over TCP/IP protocol. The remote side does not need Serial to Ethernet Connector installed. You only need to specify IP address or network name of the remote server and TCP port you would like to connect to. The client connection means that the data sent from the remote end will be received by a local serial port and will be processed further.

    To start working with a COM port, download and install the app, it will display a list of devices available to you, find the one you need and connect to it. Serial to Ethernet Connector enables access to serial port in Hyper-V, VMWare, Citrix XenDesktop and other virtualization software.
    Sec logo

    Serial to Ethernet Connector

    Connect serial ports over Ethernet
    4.9 Rank based on 52+ users, Reviews(86)
    Download 14-day fully-functional trial period
    Serial to Ethernet Connector

    Access Serial Ports in Hyper-V

    Hyper-V Manager never displays COM so you would not even know whether you have them or not. To be able to work with COM port in virtual machine you need to follow these steps, once the Hyper-V connection is established:

    1. In the lower left corner of the app click ‘Show Options’ button.
    2. Go to ‘Local Resources’ tab
    3. Next to ‘Local devices and resources’ box click ‘More…’
    4. Click ‘Ports’ checkbox
    5. Sign into the virtual machine in ‘General’ tab.
    Resources of the host machine should be visible to you in the virtual environment. After these settings are done, you will get access to COM port in virtual machine.
    Hyper-V serial port

    Work with Serial Ports in VirtualBox

    To get access to a serial port in Virtual Box, you need to perform a couple of actions on the guest virtual machine. Nothing is to be done on the host OS. VirtualBox serial port passthrough is possible in a couple simple steps:

    VirtualBox COM port

    Here is what you have to do in the virtual environment – configure serial port settings:

    1. Click ‘Serial Port’ check box and enter Port/ File Path.
    2. Start your machine with flagged ‘Create Pipe’ check box, if ‘Create Pipe’ is not checked, an error message will be displayed.
    3. VirtualBox serial port
    3. Now you can start your second machine.
    If you followed the instructions carefully, after all manipulations are done - you will easily get access to all needed features of your serial port device in VirtualBox. You will see the device in your control panel on the virtual machine.

    VMware serial port access

    If you are used to VMware environment, you may face the problem mentioned above. In case you already know, how to access COM port in VMware, the issue may still appear. For example, when you need to forward more than four COMs in VMware Workstation. To work with a serial port in VMware here is what you have to do:

    1. In virtual machine go to Settings
    2. In ‘Hardware’ tab click ‘Add’
    3. Follow the wizard and select a serial port
    4. Specify where the serial port needs to send an output – if it is a named pipe, make sure to configure it.
    5. ‘Connect at power on’ allows you to connect to the port once you start the virtual machine
    6. Click ‘Finish’ to add remote serial port to virtual machine.


    If your purpose is to connect serial port in VMware without limitations, Serial to Ethernet Connector will be the solution you are looking for. You just need to install the software on both host and virtual machines, like mentioned above.

    In this guide, we gave you step-by-step instructions on how to access COM port in a virtual machine. With these settings, you will get all functionality you need to access serial port right in your guest machine as it was plugged in directly. You may also communicate with the virtually created port with the software solution without any additional settings. Serial to Ethernet Connector lets you access COM port in any virtual machine from mentioned above. You will easily access COM port in VMware, VirtualBox, CitriX or Hyper-V - even without additional settings and steps. The software allows working in a virtual environment with serial port devices and gets all its benefits. So, choose the solution which will be the simplest for you and it will help you to get all you need from the COM port functionality.